Share this article

If you’re not yet on the voters’ roll, this weekend is your last chance to make sure you can sign your cross in local government elections in May.
THOSE Joburg residents who have not yet registered to vote in this year’s local government elections, taking place on 18 May, will be glad to know that they still have a chance to do so this weekend.


Executive mayor Amos Masondo casts his vote in a previous election (PHoto: Enoch Lehung, City of Johannesburg)Executive mayor Amos Masondo casts his vote in a previous election (Photo: Enoch Lehung, City of Johannesburg)A number of makeshift registration stations will be put up in each of the City’s seven regions. The centres will operate from 8am to 5pm on Saturday and Sunday, 5 and 6 March.

Every South African citizen who is over the age of 16, who has a valid bar-coded green identity document and has not voted in the past needs to register. Those who have moved since the last elections also need to register for the 2011 municipal elections.

Voters need to register at the registration station where they live, as this is where they will vote come May.

Those who have not yet registered must go to their nearest registration centre to their homes with their ID books. At the station they will fill in an application form and have their IDs scanned. A bar-coded sticker will be pasted in their ID book. Once this is done, they will be registered on the voters’ roll and will be ready to vote.

According to Rafick Charles, the Joburg regional supervisor of the Independent Electoral Commission (IEC), there will be over 797 registration centres in Johannesburg to ensure that each and every resident who is eligible to vote is not left in the dark.

Among others, they will be in Region A at: Ivory Park Primary School, Muzomuhle Primary School, Neighbourhood Centre, Temporary Voting Tin Hall, River Walk Centre, Kwena Molapo School, Diepsloot Youth Centre and Crawford Preparatory College.

In Region B, they will include: Bosmont Recreation Centre, Greenside Primary School, The Ridge School, Melpark Primary School, Holy Family College, Raucall, Emmarentia Primary School, Westdene Recreation Centre, Coronationville Recreation Centre and Roosevelt Park Bowling Club.

In Region C, people can go to: Bram Fischer Multipurpose Centre, Moses Kotane Primary School, Roodepoort City Hall, Constantia Kloof Primary School, Kloofendal Ecological Centre, Laerskool Horison, Ruiter Afrikaans Primary School, South West Gauteng College and Discovery Community Centre.


Makeshift structures have been set up for people to registerMakeshift structures have been set up for people to registerIn Region D, the stations will include: Dube Hostel Hall, Orlando West Secondary School, Sapebuso Primary School, Orlando West Women’s Hostel Hall, Meadowlands High School, Meadowlands Welfare Centre, Palesa Combined School, Meadowlands Primary School, Kelokitso Senior Secondary School and Freedom Park Noah’s Ark Centre.

In Region E, the centres will include: Sandton Fire Station, Bramley Primary School, Alexandra High School, Inanda Club, Alex Adult Education Centre, Rosebank Bowling Club, Sandtonview School, George Lea Sports Club and Hyde Park High School.

Region F’s registration stations will include: Observatory East Primary School, Yeoville Community School, Jeppe High School, Yeoville Community School, Pioneer Administration Hall, Johannesburg City Hall, Kensington Ridge Primary School, Central Community Fellowship and the Crown Reef Primary School.

Stations in Region G will include: Finetown Primary School, Lawley Community Crèche, Lawley Primary School, Lehae Primary School, Ennerdale Civic Centre, Ennerdale Secondary School, Zionist Christian Church and Orange Farm Primary School.

These will be the fourth democratic local government elections. The first took place in 1995, a year after the historic national elections of 1994.

National and provincial elections also take place every five years. In South Africa, voters choose a political party as opposed to an individual. Depending on number of voters, political parties then share seats in parliament in proportion to the votes each party received.

For more information about where to register or to find out if you are registered already, call 0800 11 8000.

Related stories:

Prepare to be counted
2010 Customer Satisfaction Survey
Zuma calls on all to create jobs