Share this article

City hosts Property Rates Policy Review meetings
rates policy meeting.JPG

Johannesburg residents have been given the opportunity to author the City’s Property Rates Policy.

For the next few weeks, the City will be hosting a series of Property Rates Policy Review meetings in all regions during which residents will have a free rein to determine the content and character of the final document.

A number of meetings, part of the first round of a consultative process held in terms of the Municipal Property Rates Act 6 of 2004, have already been held in the various regions. More meetings will be held from Saturday January 24 to Wednesday February 25.

The second round of this public consultation process will take place in April and May when the new proposals and feedback will be incorporated into the draft document and presented to the public for comment. 

According to Stan Maphologela, spokesperson for the City’s Group Finance, the aim of this annual process is to ensure that residents’ views are heard and that the tariffs are equitable and affordable. “The City reviews its Property Rates Policy on an annual basis with the purpose to determine categories of properties, which will then be rated according to a tariff,” says Maphologela.

He says the consultative process will culminate in the 2015-2016 Budget Speech to be delivered by Member of the Mayoral Committee for Finance Cllr Geoffrey Makhubo later this year. “This is an important process through which the City encourages residents to participate in to determine rates and taxes for the following financial year,” Cllr Makhubo says.

The following are dates and venues of the remaining consultative meetings:

Protea Glen, Soweto: Protea Glen Library, Saturday January 24, from 10am until 2pm;
Cosmo City: Cosmo City Multipurpose Centre, Tuesday January 27, from 6pm to 8pm;
Hillbrow: Hillbrow Recreation Centre, Thursday January 29, from 6pm until 8pm;
Orlando East, Soweto: Orlando East Communal Hall, Saturday January 31, from 2pm until 4pm;
Dlamini, Soweto: Dlamini Community Hall, Koma Road, Saturday January 31, from 10am until noon;
Ennerdale: Ennerdale Civic Centre, Tuesday February 3, from 6pm until 8pm;
Eldorado Park: Don Mateman Hall, Wednesday February 4, from 6pm until 8pm;
Lenasia: Lenasia Civic Centre: Thursday February 5, from 6pm until 8pm;
Midrand: Midrand Fire Station Auditorium on Monday February 9, from 6pm until 8pm;
Diepsloot: Diepsloot Youth Hall, Ingonyama Drive, Tuesday February 10 from 6pm until 8pm;
Ivory Park: Lord Khanyile Library, Wednesday February 11, from 6pm until 8pm;
Roodepoort Civic Centre on Christiaan de Wet Road, on Monday February 16, from 6pm until 8pm.
Emmarentia: Marks Park Pavilion Hall, Tuesday February 17, from 6pm until 8pm;
Marlboro: Marlboro Recreation Centre, Wednesday February 18, from 6pm until 8pm;
Rosettenville: Eureka House, Springfield, Thursday February 19, from 6pm until 8pm;
Sandton: Ernest Ullman Park Recreation Centre, Monday February 23, from 6pm until 8pm;
Mondeor: Mondeor Recreational Centre, Tuesday February 24, from 7pm until 9pm; and
Alexandra: Attreck Hall, East Bank Avenue, Wednesday February 25, from 6pm until 8pm.
Submissions can also be made on the City’s website www.joburg.org.za or via email at Rates Comment @Joburg.org.za until February 27.