Share this article

The City of Johannesburg is requesting the residents to propose the names of the 13 new Rea Vaya stations; four new interchanges and two new bridges that are being built as part of introduction of the next phase of Rea Vaya to Alexandra. 

Residents have until 31 October 2017 to send their proposed names of the Rea Vaya bus stations, pedestrian bridge over the M1 at Marlboro, interchanges, and a pedestrian path that are being completed in preparation of the Rea Vaya Bus Rapid Transit (BRT) between Joburg CBD, Alexandra, Greenstone and Sandton.

“The City of Johannesburg policy requires that the members of the public must have a say in terms of the naming of these new transport infrastructures that we are building as part of the City's transport master plan,” said Cllr Nonhlanhla Helen Makhuba, Member of the Mayoral Committee for Transport in the City of Johannesburg.

The stations are in the third phase of Rea Vaya, that will be up and running by October next year between the Joburg CBD, Alexandra and Sandton to contribute to the growth and economic empowerment of disadvantaged people in those areas.

“We are encouraging all Johannesburg residents to take part in this historic naming of the Rea Vaya stations, interchanges and bridges, in which names will be selected based either on the history of the area or a geographic landmark,” said Cllr Makhuba.

“Community leaders are also being consulted including all key stakeholders and City councillors to participate in the process of proposing the names for new stations, brigades and interchanges,” she said.

Members of the public are urged to participate in this exciting milestone in the Rea Vaya’s history by visiting the City’s website:

For each station, bridge and interchange at least two names have to be suggested. The public will also be asked to vote for the final names. For more information on the names proposal, visit the Rea Vaya website